Third Party DMV Drive Tests
Terms and Conditions
***By scheduling a Drive Test appointment with S.O.D.E. Inc.,
you agree to all of these terms & conditions***
S.O.D.E., Inc. is contracted by the DMV to conduct Drive Test. We are not the DMV.
If you need to cancel or re-schedule, please contact our office (541) 499-0132
S.O.D.E., Inc. does not provide drive tests for individuals in the At-Risk-Driver Program. You'll need to contact the DMV.
S.O.D.E., Inc. can conduct a drive test for those required to have an IID. You must use vehicle the IIU is installed in. Vehicle must pass equipment check list.
Only the examiner and the customer taking the test are allowed in the vehicle during the drive test. No exceptions.
At the time of your appointment, you MUST show the examiner your original photo ID. No copies. The temporary issued by the DMV is acceptable.
Under 18 yrs old are required by the DMV to have held their permit for 6 months. You must show your permit at the time of your appointment. No exception.
You CAN'T be late to your appointment. No exceptions. Go to the address of the test site location you select when scheduling.
The customer must be in an issuable standing with the Oregon DMV. It is your responsibility to be eligible to take the drive test. If you are not eligible at the time of your appointment, you wont be able to test and you forfeit your appointment & fee.
The customer must present their original photo identification to the examiner at the time of the appointment. The temporary ID issued by the DMV is acceptable. See below for acceptable forms of ID
If test is failed, must wait until next business day to test again.
The customer is not permitted to test with a Examiner(s) they had Behind-the-Wheel (Including Private Lessons) or classroom lessons with
The customer can't test with an examiner that you know personally
The Customer must NOT have suspended or revoked driving privileges
Customer must have passed the Knowledge Test at an Oregon DMV field office, unless the Applicant has a current Learner's Permit. A current Oregon Learner's Permit meets the requirements.
Eligibility if under 18 years old (in addition to the above eligibility list):
Customer must be at least 16 years old. You can't test before your 16th birthday
Customer must have held an Oregon Learner's Permit for a minimum of 6 months
Customer must bring their original Learner's Permit to their Drive Test appointment
Driving Experience - 100 hours if Customer did not complete an ODOT-approved Traffic Safety Education Course
Customer with out-of-state Learner's Permits must take the Knowledge Test and Vision Screening at an Oregon DMV field office prior to a drive test and bring their permit to prove they've had it for the 6 month minimum
The Customer must NOT have suspended or revoked driving privileges
Use of Personal Vehicle:
A personal vehicle can be used but must pass the equipment check list.
The valid registration card and current proof insurance for the personal vehicle must be provided at the time of your test.
Bring in to show the examiner the vehicles valid registration card (issued by the DMV) and current proof of insurance (Digital or card acceptable).
We can't accept a car title or bill of sale. If you don't have the valid registration card for the car, it can't be used to test in.
Customers who are required by the DMV to have an IID MUST use their vehicle with the IIU installed. Therefore the vehicle must meet all the requirements. Failure to meet all the requirements results in a forfeit of the appointment & fee.
On Test day, Applicant MUST:
BE ON TIME! It is recommended you arrive 10 minutes before the scheduled appointment.
bring a photo ID to the appointment (See Examples of Photo ID Below**)
be eligible with the Oregon DMV
Roseburg and Eugene Drive Test Appointments after 5p.m. - Please wait in the parking lot. The Examiner will call you at the cell phone number that you provided when scheduling.
**Photo ID Examples:
***Under 18: ONLY a valid Learner's Permit***
Oregon ID card or Learner's Permit (valid or expired) (Permit required for anyone under 18)
Temporary permit or state ID issued by the DMV (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
Out of State ID card, Learner's Permit, or License (valid or expired) (Permit required of anyone under 18)
Work Picture ID (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
Passport or Passport Card (US or Foreign) (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
Jail Picture ID card (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
Concealed Carry Permit (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
School Picture ID card (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
Military ID card (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
Costco card (Not acceptable for anyone under 18)
AFTER PASSING A THIRD PARTY DMV DRIVE TEST
S.O.D.E., Inc. submits the results electronically after the drive test is complete.
The Customer must go to a DMV field office to obtain their license. The test score is kept on file with the DMV for 2 years.
The Customer must provide all DMV required documents to the DMV and pay the required fees for licensure.
The customer must wait to test until the next day. Changing the location of the drive test does not waive the requirement. You will have to schedule a new appointment.
If the Customer completed the scheduled drive test, regardless of test score, no refunds will be issued. Test failures do not warrant a refund or rescheduling. If an appointment is cancelled with at least 48 hours notice, a full refund can be issued. No partial refunds will be issued. The customer MUST contact the office (541-499-0132) with at least 48 hours notice. If the Customer reaches the office voicemail, the Customer MUST leave a message with at least 48 hours notice. If an Customer is permitted to schedule a drive test through the office staff with less than 48 hours before the drive test, cancellations are not permitted nor are refunds issued.
NO REFUNDS will be issued:
If for any reason the Customer does not comply with any of the Drive Test Terms and Conditions upon arrival of a drive test & the Customer will forfeit their drive test appointment and test fee
If the Customer cancels within 48 hours of the appointment
If within 48 hours of the appointment it is determined that the Customer is not eligible by the DMV standards to take a drive test.
If the Customer arrives to the appointment and it is determined that the Customer had been a student of the Examiner in S.O.D.E., Inc.'s Driver Education program and is schedule with the same examiner
If the Customer is a "NO SHOW"
If the Customer is LATE to the scheduled appointment
If the Customer fails the drive test
A Customer will be considered a "NO SHOW" if:
they arrive late to their appointment
they do not arrive to their appointment
they don't have original photo ID
cancel the appointment with less than 48 hours notice
they do not observe the wait time for a previously "Failed Test"
they arrive to a drive test appointment intoxicated or under the influence of any substance
If an Examiner must cancel a drive test due to illness or extreme circumstances, the Customer will receive a phone call informing them of the cancellation. The Customer will be offered the next available drive test appointment or a full refund.
Use of a Personal Vehicle
The criteria below MUST be met
**It is the examiner's discretion if the vehicle passes the equipment check qualifications. If the customer's vehicle does not meet the qualifications, the customer has the option to test in a S.O.D.E., Inc. vehicle or forfeit the test fee and the appointment time.
At the appointment customer must provide (bring inside):
*Proof of the following:
1. Up-to-date Vehicle Registration issued by the DMV, with a rear valid license plate and current/ valid registration stickers
*MUST bring original registration card to the appointment. Without it we can't test in your vehicle.
*Proof of car insurance including:
1. company name, policy #, and expiration date
*MUST bring a digital or paper copy to the appointment. Without it we can't test in your vehicle.
YOUR vehicle MUST have the following equipment:
1. BRAKE LIGHTS- both must work
2. HORN- must be audible for 20ft
3. Both a REARVIEW MIRROR and driver SIDE VIEW MIRROR
4. Operable passenger DOOR HANDLE inside and out
5. Proper PASSENGER SEAT securely fixed to the car body beside the driver
6. Operable seat belts for both the driver and passenger side
7. Tires must be in good condition
8. NO obstructions- signs, posters, adhesive film, glaze application, extensive window/ windshield cracks, and anything else that impairs the vision of the driver or examiner
9. TURN SIGNALS that work in the front and back
10. The vehicle must have operational equipment items if the weather conditions warrant use:
*HEADLIGHTS and TAILLIGHTS in working order
*WINDSHIELD WIPERS in working order
*STUDDED TIRES OR TRACTION DEVICE (if weather permits)
*DEFROSTER in working order
The following is NOT allowed during the drive test:
1. DISTRACTIONS must be turned off during the test such as: stereos, CB radios, radar detectors, cell phones, televisions, and navigation systems.
*nothing on the front dash or back window ledge
*no objects hanging from the rearview mirror that obstruct vision
3. CONTRABAND- use of/ open alcohol containers, drugs or drug paraphernalia
4. Interpreter/other people - only the driver and examiner are allowed in the vehicle
IF WEATHER CONDITIONS ARE DETERMINED UNSAFE BY OUR LEAD EXAMINER, THE OFFICE WILL CALL YOU TO RESCHEDULE:
- All appointments between 8am and 12pm, will be contacted by 4pm the day before your appointment.
- All appointments between 12pm and 7pm, you will be contacted by 11am the day of the appointment.
**You will not be charged to reschedule if our office contacts you to reschedule due to weather conditions.
For more details go to: https://www.southernoregondrivered.com/weather-conditions
The Applicant can fill out and submit to the DMV a "Grievance Form" found on our "FORMS" page.
Print the "Grievance Form" and mail to: DMV Driver Programs, 1905 Lana Ave. NE, Salem, OR 97314